Skip Navigation
logo


My Account

Log in

Homework Help - Grades K-8 | High School

Use our free databases or pre-selected Web site links to help with your research.
For assistance, try our help page or contact the Reference Desk.

Home Access = accessible online from home or work with a valid library card.
In-Library Access = accessible only from an Information Station within the Library buildings.


Databases - Grades K-8   Web Links - Grades K-8
eLibrary Elementary
Full-text database of magazines, book chapters, newspapers, maps, photos and more. All in an easy-to-use, graphical format for kids and young adults!
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access
Internet Library for Kids
Access the Internet Public Library through the Kidspace to find ideas for science projects, sports & recreation, health & nutrition, fun games, and more.

KidsClick
Want to search the Web? Try KidsClick, a Web search for kids made especially for them by librarians!

Potus (Presidents of the United States)
In this resource you will find background information, election results, cabinet members, notable events, and some points of interest on each of the presidents. Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites are also included.



For more recommended Web sites, categorized by subject and age group, visit our Web Links section.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
The online version of World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is organized so that students can find information quickly and easily. It includes more than 2,200 articles, 250 maps, 1,500 illustrations, and bilingual navigation.

Home Access In-Library Access
Kids Search
Search EBSCOhost with Kids Search. Important features and functionality include the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords; simultaneous searching across all subscribed databases; the ability to sort results; the option of filtering search results by source type; and the ability to add search results, images, or persistent links to searches to the Folder.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access
Mango Languages
Mango is designed to equip you with conversational abilities in 12 different language courses. Its unique teaching method quickly engages you in real conversations between two native speakers. Whether you are a student, educator, in business, or just love languages, learning a foreign language is now easy, effective, and convenient.
Adobe Flash Player 9 must be downloaded in order to view all content.


Home Access In-Library Access
NoveList K-8
NoveList K-8 is aimed at helping younger readers find the books they want to read -- whether in a school setting or in public library children's rooms. Full-text reviews from sources like School Library Journal and Booklist are available for many titles. NoveList K-8 has all of the searching features contained in NoveList and allows users to search by author, title, series, theme or topic. Also included are BookTalks and Picture Book Extenders.

Home Access In-Library Access
Searchasaurus
Searchasaurus is EBSCOhost's search experience for users in elementary or middle schools. Complete with erupting volcanoes, dinosaur guide and compass, it's an exciting and easy way for young researchers to experience online searching. Primary Search, Middle Search Plus and Book Collection: Nonfiction can be accessed here.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access
World Book Kids
Based on the award-winning World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia, this class-room tested site offers simple navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of illustrations and engaging activities.

Home Access In-Library Access




Databases - High School   Web Links - High School
Academic Search Premier
from EBSCOhost

Full text for scholarly and academic magazines and periodicals - covering nearly every area of academic study including: computer sciences, engineering, physics, chemistry, language and linguistics, arts and literature, medical sciences, ethnic studies, and many more.

Home Access In-Library Access
A+ Research and Writing
Want to do a great job on your research paper, but don't know how to get started? Find all the tools you need to complete the assignment, including how and where to research, finding your resources, and even how to write and revise your paper.

CIA World Factbook
Look up any country in the world and find quick, pertinent facts. Capital, government, people, and many other categories are available. Also included are Flags of the World.

Fact Monster
Fact Monster is an ideal reference site that provides entertainment and educational resources. It combines the contents of an encyclopedia, a dictionary, an atlas, and several almanacs loaded with statistics, facts, and historical records.

High School Ace
Web guide to free quality educational resources for teens. Includes subject guides, interactive quizzes, and college guidance assistance.



For more recommended Web sites, categorized by subject and age group, visit our Web Links section.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
The online version of World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is organized so that students can find information quickly and easily. It includes more than 2,200 articles, 250 maps, 1,500 illustrations, and bilingual navigation.

Home Access In-Library Access
Learn 2
LearningExpress Library is a comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons—students and adult learners—succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results.

Home Access In-Library Access
L 'Encyclopédie Découvertes
L'Encyclopédie Découvertes offers World Book's editorial content translated into French. It is written at a reading level appropriate for younger users who are native speakers and readers of French, as well as older students and adults for whom French is a second language. The site offers thousands of encyclopedia articles, photos and illustrations, diagrams, and maps, combined with efficient search and retrieval capabilities, and an interface that is easy to understand and intuitive to use.

Home Access In-Library Access
Mango Languages
Mango is designed to equip you with conversational abilities in 12 different language courses. Its unique teaching method quickly engages you in real conversations between two native speakers. Whether you are a student, educator, in business, or just love languages, learning a foreign language is now easy, effective, and convenient.
Adobe Flash Player 9 must be downloaded in order to view all content.


Home Access In-Library Access
Student Research Center
A search interface designed specifically for secondary school students, according to their needs and search abilities. Easily pre-determine which content sources -- magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, film & video -- are right for the project. Also search their databases by topic heading, make use of an online dictionary and encyclopedia, and explore the top searches of the day.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access
TOPICsearch from EBSCOhost
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms. Students can use either the dropdown menus for Current Events or Topics to easily locate relevant articles. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 105,000 articles from 1,622 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers. This database provides full text for more than 1,550 publications. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 1,650 journals.

Home Access In-Library Access
World Book Advanced
Tailored for the needs and skills of students in grades 8 and up, World Book Advanced integrated primary and secondary source databases in a single search. Resources include encyclopedic content, ebooks, images and sounds, research tools, timeline and citation builders, and a vast collection of primary source documents.

Home Access In-Library Access
World Book Online Reference Center
The World Book Online Reference Center includes all the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more. The comprehensive site hosts more than 20,000 pictures, maps, videos, and sounds, plus a wealth of learning activities and educator tools.

Home Access In-Library Access



Looking for personalized Reference help
after the Library is closed?

Try our live, 24/7, online reference service:
Express Info

Centerville Library • 111 W. Spring Valley Rd. • Centerville, OH 45458 • 937/433-8091
Woodbourne Library • 6060 Far Hills Ave. • Centerville, OH 45459 • 937/435-3700