Skip Navigation
logo


My Account

Log in

Health & Science

Use our free databases or pre-selected Web site links to help with your research.
For assistance, try our help page or contact the Reference Desk.

Home Access = accessible online from home or work with a valid library card.
In-Library Access = accessible only from an Information Station within the Library buildings.


Databases   Web Links
Alt Health Watch
from EBSCOhost
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.


Home Access In-Library Access
Centers for Disease Control
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is the nation's premier public health agency -- working to ensure healthy people in a healthy world.

CNN - Health
CNN offers health articles and videos, alphabetical listing of conditions, and other links helping you and your decisions about health.

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus directs you to information to help answer health questions and brings together authoritative information from government agencies and health-related organizations. MedlinePlus also has extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and latest health news.

National Institutes of Health
As the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research, NIH scientists investigate ways to prevent disease as well as the causes, treatments, and even cures for common and rare diseases.

New Scientist
NewScientist.com is your ultimate science and technology Web site. Updated throughout the day, their global network of specialist correspondents provide comprehensive coverage of science and technology news.

Scientific American
Scientific American, the oldest continuously published magazine in the U.S., has been bringing its readers unique insights about developments in science and technology for more than 150 years.

WebMD
WebMD provides valuable health information, tools for managing your health, and support to those who seek information. It also offers credible and in-depth medical news, features, reference material, and online community programs.



For more recommended Web sites, categorized by subject and age group, visit our Web Links section.
Consumer Health Complete
The single most comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access
Facts on File Science Online
Science Online provides reliable information in a variety of useful formats. The content is organized by subject area and type of resource, as well as by national and state science education standards. More than 1,000 science experiments and activities, 6,300 printable diagrams, illustrations, and images, many in full color, as well as hundreds of videos and flash animations are available here.

Home Access In-Library Access
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
from EBSCOhost
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.


Home Access In-Library Access
NetWellness
A non-profit consumer health website that has been in operation for more than 10 years. Over 100 health topics with in-depth information on hundreds of diseases and wellness issues. 491 world-class experts have answered 45,090 questions and contributed more than 600 articles.

Home Access In-Library Access
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
from EBSCOhost
A comprehensive database providing nearly 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. It can be searched independently, but also allows users to conveniently link to full text from citations within PsycINFO. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.


Home Access In-Library Access
Salud en Español
Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness. Topic-specific reports covering all aspects of health offer valuable overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments. The content found in this database includes a diverse collection of health related themes: first aid, infant/child care and illnesses, alternative medicine, aging and wellness.

Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar. Reportes específicos por tema que cubren todos los aspectos de la salud, dan información general importante en relación a enfermedades, afecciones y procedimientos de diversos tratamientos.


Home Access In-Library Access



Looking for personalized Reference help
after the Library is closed?

Try our live, 24/7, online reference service:
Express Info

Centerville Library • 111 W. Spring Valley Rd. • Centerville, OH 45458 • 937/433-8091
Woodbourne Library • 6060 Far Hills Ave. • Centerville, OH 45459 • 937/435-3700