Skip Navigation
logo


My Account

Log in

Genealogy

Use our free databases or pre-selected Web site links to help with your research.
For assistance, try our help page or contact the Reference Desk.

Home Access = accessible online from home or work with a valid library card.
In-Library Access = accessible only from an Information Station within the Library buildings.


Databases   Web Links
Ancestry Library Edition
Contains thousands of genealogical databases including census and military records, birth and marriage records, immigration information, and more, with dozens of databases added annually. Includes English, Canadian, Irish, Scottish, and other databases, the ability to inform Ancestry of mistakes, and read-only versions of World Tree and Ancestry Message Boards. (One World Tree, Obituary Collection, Historical Newspapers, and the PeopleFinder can be accessed from Ancestry Home Edition).

In-Library Access
Ancestry Home Edition
With more than 5 billion names and 23,000 searchable databases, Ancestry.com is the #1 online source for family history information, including the Web's largest collection of historical records.
(Some services on this site require a subscription.)

Census Online
The Web's largest directory of links to online census transcriptions! This directory includes links to federal censuses and indexes, state and territorial censuses, tax lists, voter lists, military pensioner lists, etc.

Cyndi's List
Your genealogical research portal onto the Internet, complete with a categorized & cross-referenced index.

Familysearch.org
FamilySearch.org is a non-profit service sponsored by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. The Web site has been actively gathering and preserving genealogical records worldwide for over 100 years.

RootsWeb
RootsWeb.com is a thriving, free genealogy community on the web, providing a robust worldwide environment for learning, collaborating and sharing for the expert and novice alike.



For more recommended Web sites, categorized by subject and age group, visit our Web Links section.
HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest Online includes all of the images and extensive indexing from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. It offers more than 20,000 book titles, including nearly 8,000 family histories and over 12,000 local histories. Additionally, there are more than 250 primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records, and more. Also included are the Periodical Source Index (PERSI), the Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, and Freedman’s Bank Records.

Home Access In-Library Access
Ohio Death Certificate Index (1913-1944)
Search holdings to find death certificates of persons that died in Ohio from 1913-1944. Use the index information to help obtain a copy of particular death certificates. Easily save, email, purchase or print an order form online.

Home Access In-Library Access
Ohio Historical Society Database
Use this online portal to search several collections within the Ohio Historical Society Archives Collection. Full text resources include African American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920, Civil War, Fundamental Documents, Military Rosters, and more. Additional online tools are available to help locate documents within the archives.

Home Access In-Library Access
Ohio Historical Society Journal
Ohio History was established in June 1887 as the Ohio Archaeological and Historical Quarterly. For more than one hundred years, the journal has published peer-reviewed articles and book reviews on topics spanning the political, military, social, economic, and cultural history of our region. Search through over 53,000 pages of scanned text spanning from 1887 to 2004.

Home Access In-Library Access
Ohio History Central Online Encyclopedia
Peruse an evolving, dynamic online encyclopedia from the Ohio Historical Society. Find information, images, timelines, maps, and documents about Ohio’s history, geography, geology, animals, and American Indian populations.

Home Access In-Library Access
Ohio Memory Online Scrapbook
Check out this project bringing together digital versions of historical collections from more than 330 archives, historical societies, libraries, and museums. Search or browse more than 26,000 primary sources dating from prehistory to the present. Take the Ohio Memory Challenge. Read essays about Ohio topics. Create your own scrapbook.

Home Access In-Library Access
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970 are available through this database. Over 40,000 maps and images can be use to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, study the growth of towns and cities, and learn about the impact of new developments

Home Access In-Library Access



Looking for personalized Reference help
after the Library is closed?

Try our live, 24/7, online reference service:
Express Info

Centerville Library • 111 W. Spring Valley Rd. • Centerville, OH 45458 • 937/433-8091
Woodbourne Library • 6060 Far Hills Ave. • Centerville, OH 45459 • 937/435-3700