Skip Navigation
logo


My Account

Log in

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Use our free databases or pre-selected Web site links to help with your research.
For assistance, try our help page or contact the Reference Desk.

Home Access = accessible online from home or work with a valid library card.
In-Library Access = accessible only from an Information Station within the Library buildings.


Databases   Web Links
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
The online version of World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is organized so that students can find information quickly and easily. It includes more than 2,200 articles, 250 maps, 1,500 illustrations, and bilingual navigation.

Home Access In-Library Access
AskOxford
Get your quote of the day, word of the day, and play word games all here at the Oxford Dictionary online page. With over 2 billion words, you're bound to find one you can use!

Dictionary.com
Dictionary.com is a multi-source dictionary search service. With premium and non-premium services, one can find the meaning to millions of words, try puzzles, games, and even hear word pronounciation.

Encarta
Online encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, and more. Take quizzes, find out what happened on this day in history, and prep for college.

Infoplease - Almanac
Information Please has been providing authoritative answers to all kinds of factual questions since 1938-first as a popular radio quiz show, then starting in 1947 as an annual almanac.

Merriam-Webster Online
The online dictionary includes the main A-Z listing of the Collegiate Dictionary, as well as the abbreviations, foreign words and phrases, biographical names, and geographical names sections of that book. It also includes 1,000 illustrations and 25 tables.

Thesaurus.com
Online version of Roget's New Millenium Thesaurus. Find antonyms, synonyms, and more with the click of a button!



For more recommended Web sites, categorized by subject and age group, visit our Web Links section.
Facts.com
Facts.com brings together complete content from the Facts On File World News Digest and a live newsfeed from Reuters to answer questions about events, people, issues, facts, and figures from 1940 to the present. Also delivers maps, photographs, historic documents, and special overviews of key issues, newsmakers, and events since 1940.

Home Access In-Library Access
L 'Encyclopédie Découvertes
L'Encyclopédie Découvertes offers World Book's editorial content translated into French. It is written at a reading level appropriate for younger users who are native speakers and readers of French, as well as older students and adults for whom French is a second language. The site offers thousands of encyclopedia articles, photos and illustrations, diagrams, and maps, combined with efficient search and retrieval capabilities, and an interface that is easy to understand and intuitive to use.

Home Access In-Library Access
Oxford Reference Online
Brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. ORO is updated at least three times a year with new titles, new editions, and additional features. Search over 1.3 million entries including 15,540+ illustrations with color photographs, line diagrams, maps, and tables, 42 timelines, 775+ maps, 36,000+ invaluable bibliographies, 167,000+ biographical entries, and 3,165+ external Web links.

Home Access In-Library Access
World Book Advanced
Tailored for the needs and skills of students in grades 8 and up, World Book Advanced integrated primary and secondary source databases in a single search. Resources include encyclopedic content, ebooks, images and sounds, research tools, timeline and citation builders, and a vast collection of primary source documents.

Home Access In-Library Access
World Book Kids
Based on the award-winning World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia, this class-room tested site offers simple navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of illustrations and engaging activities.

Home Access In-Library Access
World Book Online Reference Center
The World Book Online Reference Center includes all the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more. The comprehensive site hosts more than 20,000 pictures, maps, videos, and sounds, plus a wealth of learning activities and educator tools.

Home Access In-Library Access



Looking for personalized Reference help
after the Library is closed?

Try our live, 24/7, online reference service:
Express Info

Centerville Library • 111 W. Spring Valley Rd. • Centerville, OH 45458 • 937/433-8091
Woodbourne Library • 6060 Far Hills Ave. • Centerville, OH 45459 • 937/435-3700