Research Databases & Links
Please Note: Research Databases may now be found under "Research Central" where you will now find databases, book suggestions, web links and library programs by topic. Please update your favorites. If you are not automatically redirected, please click on this link: http://www.wclibrary.info/research/biography.asp
Use our free databases or pre-selected website links to help with your research.
Can't find the database you're seeking? Try our alphabetical listing!
Home Access = accessible online from home or work with a valid library card.
In-Library Access = accessible only from an Information Station within the Library buildings.
Have a question? Use the 'Ask a Librarian' live chat feature at the top of the page!
(during open business hours)
Call:
Centerville Library Reference Desk at 937/433-8091, ext. 2.
Woodbourne Library Reference Desk at 937/435-3700, ext. 2.
Email: cvref@wcpl.lib.oh.us or visit Ask a Librarian for more options.
Use our free databases or pre-selected website links to help with your research.
Can't find the database you're seeking? Try our alphabetical listing!
Home Access = accessible online from home or work with a valid library card.
In-Library Access = accessible only from an Information Station within the Library buildings.
|
Biography Reference Bank
Biographies, obituaries, and photographs of thousands of individuals – both living and deceased, as well as the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books.
|
BBC History Check topics, resources, and practical history to find world history reporting. Centering on British history, the BBC offers other worldly views of history. Best of History Websites Best of History Websites aims to provide quick, convenient, and reliable access to the best history-oriented resources online in a wide range of categories. Biography Channel Discover information about people all over the world. Find people born on this day in history, deathiversaries, and other biographical information. The History Channel Official website of television's The History Channel. Find your favorite program, check "This Day in History," join a discussion forum, and more! Infoplease - Biography Providing authoritative answers to all kinds of factual questions since 1938 - first as a popular radio quiz show, then starting in 1947 as an annual almanac. PBS History Find featured history topics, quizzes, games, and many other things about history here. Not just for the history enthusiast, also included are helpful links for students and teachers. For more recommended websites, categorized by subject and age group, visit our Web Links section. |
||
|
Literature Resource Center
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods from around the world.
|
|||
|
Ohio Historical Society Database
Search within the Ohio Historical Society Archives Collection. Full text resources include African American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920, Civil War, Military Rosters, and more.
|
|||
|
Ohio Historical Society Journal
Ohio History was established in June 1887 as the Ohio Archaeological and Historical Quarterly. Search scanned text spanning from 1887 to 2004.
|
|||
|
Ohio History Central Online Encyclopedia
From the Ohio Historical Society, find information, images, timelines, maps, and documents about Ohio's history, geography, geology, animals, and American Indian populations.
|
|||
|
Religion and Philosophy Collection
from EBSCOhost A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, and of course, aspects of philosophy.
|
|||
|
|
Have a question? Use the 'Ask a Librarian' live chat feature at the top of the page!
(during open business hours)
Call:
Centerville Library Reference Desk at 937/433-8091, ext. 2.
Woodbourne Library Reference Desk at 937/435-3700, ext. 2.
Email: cvref@wcpl.lib.oh.us or visit Ask a Librarian for more options.



