Skip Navigation
logo


My Account

Log in

Art & Literature

Use our free databases or pre-selected Web site links to help with your research.
For assistance, try our help page or contact the Reference Desk.

Home Access = accessible online from home or work with a valid library card.
In-Library Access = accessible only from an Information Station within the Library buildings.


Databases   Web Links
American and English Full Text Literature Collection
Retrieve key literary texts in seconds, saving valuable research and study time! Direct access to over 350,000 texts spanning 1,400 years, including 339,000 works of poetry, more than 5,000 plays, and 2,250 key novels and short stories. Select a text that inspires you, compare its language to similar works, learn about its author, or find out how it influenced other writers and read what they’ve said about it.

Home Access In-Library Access
Art at the Smithsonian
The Smithsonian artists' files are an exceptionally valuable resource for art historical research done on emerging regional and local artists and often are the only obtainable sources of information. The site is busily cataloging over 100,000 files that contain exhibition announcements, newspaper and magazine clippings, press releases, brochures, reviews, invitations, illustrations, résumés, artists' statements, and exhibition catalogs.

Artcyclopedia
A comprehensive index of every artist represented at hundreds of museum sites, image archives, and other online resources. With over 8,700 artists listed, 2,600 art sites indexed, and over 100,000 links, Artcyclopedia is a great place to start research on the Web.

EwArt History
Fact-filled and entertaining coverage of works of art, artists, and concepts, all "in just a minute." Watch movies about art, subscribe to podcasts, and find all you would want to know about specific periods of art history.

Internet Book List
Provides a comprehensive and easily accessible database of books. With over 60,000 books to discuss with other book lovers and nearly 20,000 authors, anyone can find a book they’d like to know more about.

Poetry.org
A resource site for poetry and poets. Here you can learn about the history, meaning, and types of poetry, as well as terms often used when reading and studying poetry. There is also the resource page: a series of links to various poetry sites for daily poetry, poetry organizations, poet biographies, and more.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg is the first and largest single collection of free electronic books, or eBooks. There are over 20,000 free books in the Project Gutenberg Online Book Catalog.



For more recommended Web sites, categorized by subject and age group, visit our Web Links section.
ART Collection
ART Collection provides high-quality, digital images of works of art from museums around the world. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art to Native American and Inuit art to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works.

Home Access In-Library Access
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry
This premiere poetry online resource contains 250,000 full text poems and 450,000 citations, as well as poetry commentary, poets' biographies, and literary glossary terms.

Home Access In-Library Access
Literature Resource Center
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers more than 130,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access
NoveList
Over 155,000 fiction titles, 125,000 annotations, 200,000 full-text searchable reviews, and 130,000 titles with popularity ranking make Novelist a great stop to finding that next great read. Use the product's "Find a Favorite Author" feature to locate a list of titles, then use one of those titles in conjunction with the “Find Similar Books” feature. Don’t forget you can also use the “Describe a Plot” option to select keywords to search for similar titles.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access
PriceIt! Antiques & Collectibles
This simple-to-use online resource delivers more than 20 million realized prices on treasures nearly 30% of Americans collect, buy, sell and trade. In addition to a constantly updated and growing database, more than 10 million images and 125 searchable categories and intuitive search functionality, PriceIt! now features a database of collectibles-related articles where researchers and collectors alike can find current and past data that complement the pricing information they receive.

Home Access In-Library Access
Professional Development Collection
from EBSCOhost

Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This is the most comprehensive and most valuable collection of full text education journals in the world. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for more than 700 journals. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.

Home Access In-Library Access
WorldCat
Lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world. Over 1 billion items in more than 10,000 libraries worldwide, the list includes books, movies, journal articles, music, and even downloadable content.

Home Access In-Library Access



Looking for personalized Reference help
after the Library is closed?

Try our live, 24/7, online reference service:
Express Info

Centerville Library • 111 W. Spring Valley Rd. • Centerville, OH 45458 • 937/433-8091
Woodbourne Library • 6060 Far Hills Ave. • Centerville, OH 45459 • 937/435-3700