Skip Navigation
logo

My Account

Log in

Please Note: Research Databases may now be found under "Research Central" where you will now find databases, book suggestions, web links and library programs by topic. Please update your favorites. If you are not automatically redirected, please click on this link: http://www.wclibrary.info/research/alphalist.asp

Research Databases Logo Research Databases TabFeatured Database TabHelp Tab Reference Chat
Alphabetical Listing
ABCDEFHKLMNOPRSTVW

Home Access = accessible online from home or work with a valid library card.
In-Library Access = accessible only from an Information Station within the Library buildings.


Databases
Academic Search Premier from EBSCOhost
Arts, humanities, science, social sciences, business, and technology journals, some with full text, and other electronic resources from 1887 to the present. *Online access to Consumer Reports from 1991 to the present.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Alt Health Watch from EBSCOhost
Full text articles on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.

Home Access In-Library Access    
American and English Full Text Literature Collection
Select a text that inspires you, compare its language to similar works, learn about its author, or find out how it influenced other writers and read what they've said about it.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Ancestry Library Edition
Contains thousands of genealogical databases including census and military records, birth and marriage records, immigration information, and more, with dozens of databases added annually.

  In-Library Access    
ART Collection
Provides high-quality, digital images of works of art from museums around the world.

Home Access In-Library Access    
AtoZdatabases
Comprehensive coverage of residential and business listings.  Research real estate, holding and investment companies, business services, etc.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Auto Repair Reference Center
Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


ARRC is currently incompatible with IE9. As a workaround, please use your IE9's Compatibility View.

                

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Biography Reference Bank
Biographies, obituaries, and photographs of thousands of individuals – both living and deceased, as well as the full text of the articles from more than 100 volumes of biographical reference books.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Books & Authors
Looking for a good book, but not sure where to start? Books & Authors might have what you need.


Home Access In-Library Access  
Business Source Premier from EBSCOhost
Provides business researchers with highly-refined tools they need in order to conduct sophisticated searches for business content.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.

Home Access In-Library Access  
Byki Online Languages
A powerful language learning system using flashcards to teach you a set of words or phrases. Learn more!

Byki Mobile for iPhone: Over 30 languages accessible! Download the app, then login to your Byki account. Click on the Byki Mobile link in the bottom right corner to access your activation code. Also available for Android!

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Career Cruising
Online career guidance and planning system. Find the right career, explore education and training options, and build your own portfolio.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Computer Source from EBSCOhost
Provides researchers with the latest information and current trends in high technology.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Consumer Reports
Features ratings and recommendations on thousands of products and services.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Dayton Daily News Archives from Newsbank
Archive of full text Dayton Daily News articles from 1990 to present.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
EBSCOhost Databases
Complete range of citation and full-text reference content available from EBSCOhost. Select a single database for searching or search multiple resources at once.

Home Access In-Library Access    
eLibrary Elementary
Full-text database of magazines, book chapters, newspapers, maps, photos and more. All in an easy-to-use, graphical format for kids and young adults!
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access    
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos is organized so that students can find information quickly and easily. It includes more than 2,200 articles, 250 maps, 1,500 illustrations, and bilingual navigation.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Facts On File Science Online
A comprehensive, curriculum-oriented overview of a broad range of scientific disciplines in a variety of useful formats. .

Home Access In-Library Access  
Fold3: History and Genealogy Archives
Find and share historic documents, with digitized images in the fields of African American, Native American, and Revolutionary War histories, and more.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition from EBSCOhost
Provides full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. In addition, this database includes Lexi-PAL Drug Guide.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Heritage Quest
A comprehensive database of American genealogical sources, rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Kids Search
Great for elementary and middle school kids looking for information. Important features and functionality include the ability to search by topic, subtopic, or keywords.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
LearningExpress Library
A comprehensive, interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Legal Forms
Access thousands of business, personal, real estate, state specific, federal, and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues.

Home Access In-Library Access    
L 'Encyclopédie Découvertes
World Book's content translated into French. Written at a reading level appropriate for young native speakers and readers of French, as well as adults for whom French is a second language.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Literature Resource Center
Full-text journal articles, literary criticism, reviews, biographical information, and overviews on over 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods from around the world.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Mango Languages
A variety of resources to help you learn practical conversation skills for languages spoken all around the world.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Masterfile Premier from EBSCOhost
Read full text articles from popular magazines. Find out about another country or culture. Search for solutions to that question you can’t quite answer.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Mergent InvestorEdge
Powerful business research tools with access to important company documents and financial information you need for each individual company, InvestorEdge helps make smart investment choices.

Home Access In-Library Access    
NetWellness
A non-profit consumer health website that has been in operation for more than 10 years. Over 100 health topics with in-depth information on hundreds of diseases and wellness issues.

Home Access In-Library Access    
New York Times
Search comprehensive coverage of this renowned newspaper here. Also included are the Book Review and Sunday Magazine. Articles from 1923-1980 are available with an in-library login. Ask at the reference desk.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Newsbank
Full-text news resource containing comprehensive coverage of current issues and events from the 4 major leading newspapers in Ohio.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Newspaper Source from EBSCOhost
Presents full text for 28 national and international newspapers.  Also has selected full text for more than 260 regional newspapers, with some full text national television & radio transcripts.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Novelist K-8 Plus
Especially for elementary & middle school students, this online source has fiction and nonfiction titles chosen to support school curriculum as well as the pleasure reading needs of students.

Home Access In-Library Access    
NoveList Plus
A great stop to finding that next great read, with both fiction and nonfiction titles!
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access    
Ohio Death Certificate Index (1913-1944)
Index of death certificates in Ohio from 1913-1944. Use the index information to help obtain a copy of particular death certificates. Easily save, e-mail, purchase or print an order form online.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Ohio Historical Society Database
Search within the Ohio Historical Society Archives Collection. Full text resources include African American Experience in Ohio 1850-1920, Civil War, Military Rosters, and more.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Ohio Historical Society Journal
Ohio History was established in June 1887 as the Ohio Archaeological and Historical Quarterly. Search scanned text spanning from 1887 to 2004.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Ohio History Central Online Encyclopedia
From the Ohio Historical Society, find information, images, timelines, maps, and documents about Ohio's history, geography, geology, animals, and American Indian populations.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Ohio Memory Online Scrapbook
This project brings together digital versions of historical collections from more than 330 archives, historical societies, libraries, and museums. Search or browse primary sources dating from prehistory to the present.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Oxford Reference Online
Brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Professional Development Collection from EBSCOhost
Designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles with full text availability.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection from EBSCOhost
A comprehensive database providing full text publications, including peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Reference USA
Select detailed information on more than 14 million U.S. businesses, 210 million U.S. residents, and 855,000 U.S. health care providers.


Home Access In-Library Access    
Regional Business News from EBSCOhost
Provides full text for more than 50 regional business publications, 75 business journals, newspapers, and newswires, covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Religion and Philosophy Collection from EBSCOhost
A comprehensive database covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, and of course, aspects of philosophy.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Salud en Español
Provides comprehensive evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish on all aspects of consumer health and wellness.

Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar.


Home Access In-Library Access    
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
Large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970 .

Home Access In-Library Access    
Searchasaurus
Searchasaurus is EBSCOhost's search experience for users in elementary or middle schools.  It's an exciting and easy way for young researchers to experience online searching.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access    
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Offers ready access to Standard & Poor's premium content such as industry surveys, stock reports and fund reports.

Home Access In-Library Access    
Student Research Center
A search interface designed specifically for secondary school students, according to needs and search abilities. Easily pre-determine which content sources are right for the project.
Learn more about this database from its online tutorial.


Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
TOPICsearch from EBSCOhost
Current events resource lets researchers explore social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
Value Line
A comprehensive source of information and advice that offers reports, stock lookup, timeliness ranking, portfolios and more.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top
World Book Advanced
Tailored for the needs and skills of students in grades 8 and up, World Book Advanced integrated primary and secondary source databases in a single search.

Home Access In-Library Access    
World Book Kids
Based on the award-winning World Book Student Discovery Encyclopedia, this site offers simple navigation, easy-to-read articles, thousands of illustrations and engaging activities.

Home Access In-Library Access    
World Book Online Reference Center
The World Book Online Reference Center includes all the articles from the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more.

Home Access In-Library Access    
WorldCat
Lets you search the collections of libraries in your community and thousands more around the world.

Home Access In-Library Access   Back to Top

Have a question? Use the 'Ask a Librarian' live chat feature at the top of the page!
(during open business hours)

Call:
Centerville Library Reference Desk at 937/433-8091, ext. 2.
Woodbourne Library Reference Desk at 937/435-3700, ext. 2.

Email: cvref@wcpl.lib.oh.us or visit Ask a Librarian for more options.


As a service to its users, the Washington-Centerville Public Library provides links from its website to other sites. The Library is not responsible for the content of these external sites, and the inclusion of a link to any site does not constitute endorsement of that site by the Library or its staff. The Library makes every attempt to select sites that are not partisan, one-sided in view, or highly controversial.

Centerville Library • 111 W. Spring Valley Rd. • Centerville, OH 45458 • 937/433-8091
Woodbourne Library • 6060 Far Hills Ave. • Centerville, OH 45459 • 937/435-3700